Posted: March 25, 2014


By Celia Cohen
Grapevine Political Writer

The Delaware General Assembly is entirely under Democratic control, not exactly surprising in a state that might be the deepest blue in the nation.

It has been all-Democratic since the House of Representatives flipped in 2008 to synchronize with the Senate, where the Republicans have been shut out of power going all the way back to 1973 when Richard Nixon was president -- for 41 years, if anyone is still counting.

The rest of the country eventually got over Nixon, but in Legislative Hall in Dover, the shadow lingers.

There is every reason to believe the Democrats will still be in charge when the votes are counted in 2014, particularly because the competitive races are few and some of them are actually primaries.

All 41 representatives are up for new two-year terms, and 10 of the 21 senators are up for new four-year terms. The chambers are currently split this way:

Senate -- 13 Democrats and 8 Republicans

House of Representatives -- 27 Democrats and 14 Republicans

In the early going, here are some races to watch.


Senate 3rd


Bob Marshall

Sherry Dorsey Walker


D: 70%

R: 11%

O: 19%

Marshall has 36 years as a senator. Dorsey Walker has 2 years as a city councilwoman. Halfway through her term, she has a no-fault shot at him

Senate 6th


Claire Snyder-Hall Ernie Lopez

D: 40%

R: 36%

O: 24%

Lopez irked the left by voting against gay marriage and the right by voting against the death penalty. Why not take him on?

Senate 11th


Bryan Townsend

Dave Tackett


D: 56%

R: 20%

O: 24%

Tackett could be another mid-term candidate, if he decides to run in safety from a county council seat he won 10 years ago

House 10th

Brandywine Hundred

Dennis Williams

Sean Matthews

Bob Rhodunda

D: 44%

R: 32%

O: 24%

This is a double rematch from challengers who were so close and yet so far. In 2012 Williams polled 53% against Matthews and 52% against Rhodunda

House 11th

Southern New Castle/Northern Kent counties

Lynne Newlin Jeff Spiegelman

D: 41%

R: 31%

O: 28%

Since at first Newlin did not succeed, losing to Spiegelman two years ago by 210 votes, she is ready to try, try again

House 25th


John Kowalko  

D: 46%

R: 25%

O: 29%

Kowalko got himself on the wrong side of the governor and the building trades by leading the charge against The Data Center's power plant plans. He could be primary bait

House 29th


Trey Paradee Pete Kramer

D: 44%

R: 32%

O: 24%

First-term legislators like Paradee, elected with under 55 percent of the vote, draw challengers

House 30th


Jonathan Gallo Bobby Outten

D: 37%

R: 35%

O: 28%

Gallo raised $13,000 last year to show he is serious about trying to send Outten, who is 66, into retirement

House 31st


Sean Lynn

Ralph Taylor

Sam Chick

D: 52%

R: 24%

O: 24%

With Darryl Scott, a three-term Democrat, not running again, this race is a free-for-all

House 33rd


Kevin Robbins Jack Peterman

D: 39%

R: 34%

O: 27%

After holding Peterman to 53% of the vote in 2012, Robbins is ready for a rematch

Incumbents in bold